Need Advice from all You Seasoned Travelers on Turbulence...

Need Advice from all You Seasoned Travelers on Turbulence...

• Total voters

ewyckoff

I'm hoping to connect with someone who may have had a similar experience to what keeps happening to me. I have some serious problems with turbulence. As an FYI, (1) I am an engineer by education and understand the laws of physics very well, (2) I have to fly 10-14 times each year between San Jose, CA and Denver, CO at all times of the year, (3) whenever I hit turbulence I totally lose it.

I know in my mind that the wing is the most stable place to sit and that it is just air pockets that no one else would even blink at, but something VERY wrong happens to me physically when the plane horizon starts to fluctuate back and forth and we experience drops akin to 'air potholes'. I usually hyperventilate until my lips and sometimes my whole face goes numb and start tearing up uncontrollably until I pass out and go limp in my seat. This of course causes all sort of problems when kids or other people see this happening - its incredibly embarrassing and I feel like crawling into a cave and hiding when it happens. My husband has suggested we see a doctor and look into some hard-core elephant tranquilizers or something when we know we'll have to fly in winter. Any suggestions beyond the basic physics-oriented explanations? Thanks,
-Erika

Lynda

I hate turbulence but somehow we learn to live with it, it is part of flying.
I once tried Diazepam but I don't like the spaced out feeling.

If I was to tell you the one thing that helped me with turbulence the most it would be the glass of water trick.

Place a half glass of water on your table and just watch how much it moves, usually it is very little and this helps to put the movements in to perspective.
Do the same in your car and you will have very little left and a quite wet dashboard.

Slow down your breathing and you will feel better.

kucher

Lifetime Elite